Serata Ratmansky at La Scala

In my last article, about my night at La Scala Theatre and my trip in Italy, I ended it with “See you soon, Italy!” I just didn’t realise how soon it would be until I was back in Milan. Exactly a month after I left the Italian lands, I went back. To La Scala, of course, as one of the winners of a contest organized by the theatre on Twitter. And of course, it all started with Roberto Bolle and this video on youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SwBs0CEOheA

Since I found out about the contest, I wanted so much to win, because I wouldn’t have had any other chance of seeing the show, as they were all scheduled to be during the week and I couldn’t take leave from work. The preview of the Serata Ratmansky was on December 14th – Saturday, so that would have been perfect. When I saw on Twitter that I was one of the winners, I couldn’t believe it and I was so happy I could burst! So, with plane tickets bought and the hotel reservation made, the morning came when I took off for Milan again.

The Serata Ratmansky, coreograhped by Alexei Ratmansky, considered to be ‘the most gifted choreographer in classical ballet today’, as you’ll find in The Telegraph’s article, included three ballets: Russian Seasons, Concerto DSCH and the world premiere – Opera.

I was so happy to be invited to attend the presentation of the ballets in the afternoon at the theatre, because it helped me get my information in order about what the ballets were about. I had already seen the video on youtube with the interview to Alexei Ratmansky, in which he talks about all three ballets:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6-WPnu-xYl0

The evening was a dream I didn’t want to wake up from. The interior of La Scala will never cease to amaze me with its beauty:

We were six winners , all girls, and we were given our very own “palco”:

photo by Teatro alla Scala

It was such a pleasure meeting them, they’re so nice, each with an interesting story to tell and talented, I really hope we’ll gather again to see a show at La Scala and not only. The distance is really starting to frustrate me, as it feels that somehow, I’m home away from home. Due to ballet and art and my friends in Italy, I have started to feel that Milan is as much a part of me as Bucharest is. I dreamed last night that I was at the Bocconi University doing my master… it seems I miss it more than I thought.

After the presentation of the ballets, we girls decided to go get a bite to eat so there we were, in a crowded but very nice place, hurrying to finish what we had ordered so we could get back in time to the theatre. Taking our places in our very own “palco” (we felt very spoiled, didn’t we?), the excitement was in the air, not only from us, but from everyone. And then it began.

Russian Seasons – music by Leonid Desyatnikov, with Alisa Zinovjeva as soprano and Laura Marzadori on violin.

From the 6 couples that appear on stage, the orange / white one seems to be the most important. Svetlana Zakharova was supposed to be the feminine part of this couple, but as she was indisposed, Marta Romagna took her place, partnered by Andrei Merkuriev. Truth be told, I was quite happy with the change, as it’s been a long wish of mine to see Marta Romagna dance. I was also entranced by the talent of Antonino Sutera, Claudio Coviello and the other wonderful ballet dancers.

Russian Seasons, a ballet for six couples and music for string orchestra, solo violin and soprano, music that passes through the Russian Orthodox liturgical calendar and seasons in its twelve sections, catches your attention and your heart from the very beginning. You even reach a point when you don’t know where to look anymore, as there is movement all over the stage and the dancers surpass themselves and at some point you realise that you had been holding your breath. The story is a beautiful rendition of life: we are born, we grow up, we die. As the seasons pass and everything else evolves, so do the feelings of the characters: from friendship and love to pain and despair. It’s like every part of their bodies and spirit scatter only to be found again in a more powerful form. I couldn’t exactly explain it, but their movements and feelings reminded me of the paintings of  Kandinsky.

Maybe it’s the fact that even though each couple is walking its own path, they still find solace in communion and their coming together in dancing took my thoughts to the paintings above. I think it is an accurate description of what I felt when watching them.

As background, some of Cézanne’s paintings came to mind, maybe because the landscapes have a kind of raw quality that I thought goes well with the melancholic state of the ballet.

At the end, we remain with a feeling of sadness, but also one of rediscovery, that the characters on the stage have somehow found themselves and have risen above all else as human beings, albeit in a melancholic state of mind, but finally free of the constraints that they felt had tied them down before. Now, their spirit has broken its shell.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0mxJDRMvkbI

I leave you with this video of Russian Seasons, I’m sorry it’s not from La Scala, but this is all I could find.

During the interval, we had an interview with the lovely people from the La Scala’s Digital Department. Silvia, I have to admit, I am extremely nervous in front of a camera – of any kind. I am quite skittish I would say, I’m not a good subject to photograph or film as I get intimidated. ~_~ Especially when we heard something along the lines of… “And you know, talking about Roberto Bolle, we’re going to meet him in his “camerino” after the show.” You could have knocked us down with a feather in that moment! I am convinced none of us could quite believe our ears! That had to be a dream! I think our faces were something like O_O “Are you serious?”

Now back in our seats for the second ballet.

Concert DSCH – music by Dmitrij Šostakovič, in which again, S. Zakharova was supposed to have danced but didn’t, but we also find names from the previous ballet like Alessandra Vassallo, Antonino Sutera and others.

I have to say that this music went straight to my heart and I adored it. It was something so light and powerful at the same time, like a game the strings were playing with every cell in our bodies, tuning them to what was happening on stage. Continuous playful movement on the notes that seemed to come from everywhere and surround you, the amazing jumps and turns that will bring tears to your eyes. Literally! I was so moved by the ease of movement, the almost ethereal state of being and of the way the dancers come together in their own symphony of souls. Even though we have a glimpse of something not exactly sad, but a certain meditative state of mind, the costumes are very colourful, as is also the case for Russian Seasons, a sign, I would dare say, of the man behind the choreography and his world. Opened, daring movements and the joy of being! Delicate, fluid feelings flowing from the stage, filling the theatre! Subtle connections created between the spectators as all, one, with their breaths held, became immersed in the world of ballet and music. A wonderful choreography that I hope to see again someday!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c3zjXPC3ZlU

Again, not a video from La Scala, but I really wanted to show you how wonderful it is!

Opera – the ballet that ends the Serata Ratmansky, again on the notes of Leonid Desyatnikov, a world premiere, with the amazing Roberto Bolle, Beatrice Carbone, Emanuela Montanari and Mick Zeni in the leading roles, together with the corps de ballet of La Scala. We now have a soprano – Linda Jung, a mezzosoprano – Natalia Gavrilan and a tenor – Jaeyoon Jung.

With evident baroque elements, and texts from Metastasio and Goldoni, Opera is a mix of music, singing, dancing and video projections that take you completely in the world of baroque but without completely introducing you in it. The choreography only hints at stories, but doesn’t give them a solid line of their own. This is not a music that appeals to everyone, as it’s low, soulful tones take you into the farthest abyss of your soul and wakes those parts you might think are better left alone as they scare you with their intensity. What better ending of the evening than with this powerful Opera that almost seems a wake up call of the spirit. Through the high and then low pitches of the singers’ voices, we travel with the dancers on the slides in the background (by Wend­all Harrington), telling a story that is never quite finished.

The stage presence of Roberto Bolle is strongly felt from the beginning. His bearing is elegant and his movements effort­less. His interactions with Mick Zeni leave their audience breathless and hoping they’ll get to see more. Their partners’ (Beatrice Carbone and Emanuela Montanari) talent and delicacy complete their strong personalities beautifully. I think it is safe to say that Opera is a complete success and a great way to end the evening, almost as a conclusion of the other two, a more down to earth – as the other two seemed to be lifted in a more spiritual world – approach to life and its passing. The endless applause and cheers were a statement of how much Opera was appreciated and its warm welcome with the young audience, as flash after flash could be seen from cameras and mobile phones, especially when Ratmansky himself came onto the stage.

In a way, I was sad the evening had come to an end, but we had one more amazing moment to live – we were going to meet Roberto Bolle and yes, it was true! On trembling legs, together with the other 5 winners of the La Scala Contest, we followed Silvia Farina through the theatre. I can not describe the feelings and emotions and nervous excitement coursing through my veins while walking the theater’s corridors. While we waited outside Roberto’s “camerino”, also in the company of Graham Spicer (someone whom I had been following on Twitter for some time and when Silvia came with him to meet us in our “palco”, I couldn’t believe I got to meet him too! It was a real pleasure, Graham! You can find his articles on the evening for the under 30 and the official premiere here http://www.gramilano.com/2013/12/30-ratmansky-la-scala/ and http://www.gramilano.com/2013/12/alexei-ratmanskys-opera-stay/) I still had a hard time calming myself. When we got to enter and actually meet and introduce ourselves to Roberto, I was so intimidated that I have to admit, those moments feel like such a blur, that if it wasn’t for the photo taken of us with him, I would have sworn I dreamed it.

photo by Teatro alla Scala

The first time I saw Roberto Bolle up close was in November, after L’Histoire de Manon had finished and he came out where fans were waiting for his autograph. I know I also wrote about this in my last article about my first time at La Scala, but I would really like to say it again because you just don’t meet people like him too often. Actually, I think the old saying “one in a million” – more in my opinion would be more accurate – is true! That first time, when I finally managed to get in front for his autograph and I said “Thank you!”  – more was impossible to get out – he raised his head and looked at me. This time, in his “camerino”, when introducing myself, I felt the same thing. His look. He is one of those rare people who really look at you. Do you know what I mean? Some people look at you, but don’t really see you. Well, he has such an intense energy that you can actually feel it coming from him, a concentration of being, I don’t think I have the right words to express this, but it’s like he really sees you. It was quite overwhelming! It was clear he was tired, but he was so nice to take some photos with us and give us his autograph while smiling. He feels like such a warm person, I am truly happy I got to meet him! Roberto, like I said before, “thank you” just doesn’t seem enough! Because of your amazing talent and spirit I got to meet incredible people along my way into the ballet world of La Scala to which I became acquainted due to a video sent by a friend – Swan Lake at La Scala with you and Svetlana. I am so thankful I got to meet you all!

Silvia Farina, Andrea and the others from La Scala, I thank you from the bottom of my heart for this amazing opportunity you gave me, I am so grateful, words are not enough! You were wonderful!

Until the next time at La Scala and not only! Divine – Are you going to London too?

Leave a comment